Album: Ekundayo

Release Date: 2011-11-29

where to buy

Buy on iTunes Buy on Ropeadope Buy on Bandcamp

about the album

Ekundayo, the yoruba word meaning "the joy that came from sorrow", is the name for this meeting of artists from diferent generations, backgrounds, origins and places. A collaborative effort in times of musical individualism is already unique. With the blessing of Naná Vasconcelos' percussion (he has worked with the likes of Don Cherry, Milton Nascimento and Freddie Hubbard, among many others), the gang consisting of cornetist Rob Mazurek (Chicago Underground, Exploding Star
Orchestra), poet/MC/beatmaker Mike Ladd, Mauricio Takara, Guilherme Granado (both players from Hurtmold and São Paulo Underground), producer/musician/engineer Scotty Hard (Vijay Iyer, Medeski, Martin & Wood), R. Brandão and Lurdez Da Luz (both MCs from Mamelo Sound System) composed the 12 tracks almost telepathically. The visuals are the work of Damon Locks (The Eternals). Rounding out the list are bass players Stu Brooks and Melvin Gibbs, adding extra layers of low frequencies to the mix on three tracks.
Batucada, surreal rhymes, jazz punk, worldwide ghetto: these are some keywords to this temporary autonomus zone, as Hakim Bey would say. Welcome to a cycle of free creation that breathes the urgent atmosphere of today's big cities.

about the artist